Very frequently I am asked about gluten free sports supplements. Sometimes it is very clear on labels, others times-not so much. Also, many companies are not aware of cross-contamination issues. Several times I have gotten glutened from protein powders which did not contain gluten according to the ingredients.
Allmax Nutrition has provided a list of both their gluten free products and the products that do contain gluten. This was posted on their blog
What is Gluten Free?
The term gluten-free seems to be popping up on many food products these days. It has become a popular topic as many have started to follow a gluten-free diet. We are often asked which ALLMAX products are considered Gluten-Free, so I decided to clear up the confusion surrounding the term Gluten Free.
According to celiac.ca, gluten is the name given to proteins found in wheat, rye, barely and oats. A gluten-free diet is one that eliminates foods that contain rye, wheat, barley and oats. Although the elimination of oats has been a controversial one, as many can still tolerate oats fairly well, those who follow an extremely strict gluten-free diet tend to eliminate oats from their diet as well.
One who is following a strict gluten free diet must carefully review the ingredient list of any food or supplemental products to ensure it does not include ingredients with gluten.
Individuals who follow a gluten-free diet for a variety of reasons. Some may have an intolerance to gluten-containing products and have found that eliminating these foods from their diet has helped the symptoms clear up. Others may have celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder , who must follow a strict gluten-free diet to ensure flare ups don’t occur.
Even the smallest amount of contamination with wheat can trigger a flare up which is why it’s important for a company to be extremely meticulous about calling a product ‘gluten-free’.
What ALLMAX products are gluten-free?
Many of our products, by nature are gluten-free. The following lists clarify which ALLMAX products are considered gluten free or not.
Many people ask us if Glutamine is gluten-free. The common misconception, we’re assuming, is that Glutamine sounds similar to Gluten. Rest assured, Glutamine is an amino acid and does not contain any gluten, even though it sounds somewhat like Gluten.
The following ALLMAX Nutrition Products are considered Gluten Free
· ISOFLEX Protein
· RAPIDCUTS Hardcore
· RAPIDCUTS Femme/ Rapidcuts femme Crystal Powder Packets
· CLA95/ CLA Femme
· ISOFEMME Whey Protein Smoothie
· Muscle Prime
The following ALLMAX Nutrition products contain Gluten
· ISOFEMME Protein bars
· ISOFLEX Protein Bars
Many thanks to Allmax for their assistance in helping the celiac community stay healthy! I will be adding more gluten free sports supplement resources to the blog as I am able to verify them.
About the Author: